Forum

Home / Forum

Thoughts from a pilot  

RSS

av8r
(@av8r)
30/04/2019 4:41 pm  

hello all,

i look forward to having a healthy debate. 

i listened to the podcast with the GVI pilot and found several things 6 odd about his story. like your podcast guest, i am also a commercial pilot with over 30 years of experience. i was very interested to hear his story as i, in all my years of flying have never met any pilot who believed in a flat earth. 

-if he is flying from eastern australia to new york by overflying alaska, then he is the only pilot in the world doing this (unless there is a needed stop in AK). first of all, a GVI does not have the range to fly from western australia to new york non stop. it is 2-3 thousand miles further than the max range of the aircraft. however, all hypothetical routes from western australia to the eastern US come no where near alaska. 

- a very small thing, but i have never heard a pilot refer to a Citation X as a citation x (with the letter x pronounced). it would be like calling a Gulfstream V a gulfstream "vee". every pilot i know refers to it as a citation 10. maybe its a aussie thing.

- after listening to your conversation regarding the route between the US and Ireland and why it follows a route off the coast of N america and up close to greenland and iceland; i would respectifully suggest that you research great circle routes. once you understand this then the route makes perfect since. you will also notice that the westbound route from europe back to the US is significantly different than the eastbound. we will deliberately fly a longer (mileage wise) route in order to avoid the jetstream. while the route is more miles, it is less time. this is why the westbound routes are almost always much further north than the eastbound. i am surprised that a such an expierenced pilot would not be familiar with the concept of great circle routes

Paul On The Plane
(@paulontheplane)
Member Admin
22/06/2019 5:55 am  

Hello av8r,